

Kulawula House 526 Madiba Street Arcadia 0083 Pretoria, SOUTH AFRICA PO Box 40343 Arcadia 0007 Pretoria SOUTH AFRICA Tel: +27(0)12 401 4600 Fax: +27(0)12 401 4700 Email: info@nersa.org.za



@NERSAZA

Date: 21 September 2021

MEDIA STATEMENT

NERSA'S APPROVES SEVEN GENERATION LICENCES FOR PREFERRED BIDDERS UNDER THE RISK MITIGATION INDEPENDENT POWER PRODUCER PROCUREMENT PROGRAMME

The National Energy Regulator of South Africa (NERSA) confirms that based on the available information and analysis conducted on the applications for generation licences by the seven Risk Mitigation Independent Power Producer Procurement Programme (RMIPPPP) preferred bidders, at its meeting held today, 21 September 2021, the Energy Regulator has approved the issuing of generation licences for the seven RMIPPPP preferred bidders.

The seven RMIPPPP preferred bidders are:

- 1. Oya Energy (Pty) Ltd
- 2. Umoyilanga (Pty) Ltd
- 3. ACWA Power Project DAO (Pty) Ltd
- 4. Mulilo Total Hydra Storage (Pty) Ltd
- 5. Karpowership SA Coega (RF) (Pty) Ltd
- 6. Karpowership SA Richards Bay (RF) (Pty) Ltd
- 7. Karpowership SA Saldanha (RF) (Pty) Ltd

The Decision and Reasons for Decision (RfD) will be available on the NERSA website <u>www.nersa.org.za</u> in due course.

End.

Enquiries: Charles Hlebela Head of Communications Tel: 012 401 4768 Cell: 083 646 8280 Email: charles.hlebela@nersa.org.za

> **Regulator Members:** *Adv NP Sithole (Chief Executive Officer) *Mr N Gumede *Ms N Maseti *Mr MW Mkhize Mr S Mokoena Ms Z Mpungose Mr FK Sibanda *Full-Time Regulator Members